A spark of eternal fire

Last Saturday as our little family was coming home from our favorite place to eat (Cafe Rio, all the way) my husband looked up at one of the mountains our apartment is nestled against. He said half jokingly, but hopefully “We should go home, change our clothes real quick, and then hike up the mountain!”

I think he expected me to say no; it was windy, getting chilly, and the sun was close to setting. But, I felt like being spontaneous. A little bit of nature never hurt. So we got home, rushed around, and were out the door again.

On our way there we wondered if we were crazy–the sun was setting and we had our little boy with us. But once we started hiking, we realized we were not crazy at all.

The view.

IMG_20141101_184638981

The view struck my soul–the sun setting with its powerful rays of light; the clouds reflecting the light in amazing ways, the city lights spanning across the valley. It took my breath away and enlarged my soul reminding me I am part of something magnificent; something awe-inspiring.

Our little family enjoying the view on the mountain.

Sometimes I just need to get away–get away either physically, spiritually, or mentally from the hussle and bussle of life. Even if the time of solitude is short, it is a breath of fresh air for my soul to step out and look at my life from a better angle–from above. To see myself how God may see me–a unique individual filled with meaning and loved completely by Him.

“This is a paradox of man: compared to God, man is nothing; yet we are everything to God. While against the backdrop of infinite creation we may appear to be nothing, we have a spark of eternal fire burning within our breast.”- Dieter Uchtdorf

For me, hiking up that mountain gave me a better view; a clearer perspective on who I am in the grand scheme of things. Being amid God’s vast creations reminded me that I am part of something eternal; something majestic.

Yes, I am small. But I am everything to God. So are you.

How do you step away from life and find inner peace and a clearer perspective? How do you remember to see yourself as God sees you?

23 thoughts on “A spark of eternal fire

  1. Wow, what a beautiful view! One of the first dates my husband and I ever went on was a night hike. I think that’s when I decided he was the one. 🙂 I love, love, love your title, “A Spark of Eternal Fire.” And hiking, I totally agree, gives you a clearer perspective on who we are…on everything! Good for you for braving the dark and the cold. It was certainly worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is so fun that one of your first dates with you husband was a night hike! It was actually a couple years ago when my husband and I were parked in the parking lot of the hike we did last weekend, that we first talked about getting married. 🙂 And thank you, I love Pres. Uchtdorf! He speaks so eloquently, yet powerfully–thats why I named it what I did. I love the imagery of “A spark of eternal fire.” And I completely agree with you, the hike was well worth it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • It is amazing how so many of us turn to nature for a boost to our souls. It is amazing how seeing God’s creations reminds us that we are also His creation. And remembering that we are divine helps everything in life 🙂 And I agree, it was absolutely a refreshing hike!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Powerful words. I love this post and the photographs that came with it. It reminds me of whenever I’m near the ocean. It’s so vast and enormous that my perspective shifts into this I-am-one-of-many mentality. And suddenly, all my worries and my so-called problems seem trivial. Because there’s bigger things out there…and I am just a speck in the grander scheme of things. It always leaves me thankful and a bit more peaceful. Thanks for sharing. Here’s to more eye opening hikes for you in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maria, I love that you brought up the ocean. The ocean is so beautiful and calming for me, as well. I love hearing the waves roll in rhythmically. And it is amazing how nature can calm our fears and put things into perspective. I’m so grateful to God for creating an earth that is beautiful to live in, as well as helps us remember Him. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so wonderful Marla! I love the quote and the pictures are so breathtaking. 🙂 Sometimes these little moments of perspective are what we need to remember who we are in God’s eyes. Thank you for such an encouraging post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! You are exactly right, Kim! You said it perfectly “Sometimes these little moments of perspective are what we need to remember who we are in God’s eyes.” Sometimes I pray to see myself as He see’s me, and it helps. Thank you for your kind comment. I’m glad you enjoyed the post! 🙂

      Like

  4. Love this, Marla! Some of my most favorite memories are of amazing views like this. I think it does give perspective and allow us to see the beauty around us. Now I want to come climb that mountain with you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Melanie! I agree, hiking really does help us see the beauty that surrounds us. And I wish you guys could’ve been there when we climbed up that mountain! It was the Y. ☺

      Like

    • I know, sometimes I just can’t get over the beauty of the world we live in. It marvels me! And thank you! I’m trying to work on being spontaneous and jumping on opportunities, so I really appreciate your comment! ☺

      Like

    • I love what you just said–we don’t have to go on top of a mountain to find peace and a refuge. We can relax mentally and create a haven wherever we are. And thank you so much for visiting my blog! I enjoy your perspective! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear your thoughts!