A sweet voice

Lately my son, Parker, has been learning a lot more words. It has been adorable and insightful to see more into his little mind. These precious kids have so much they are thinking about!

me with parker on my back on a hike.Yesterday Parker and I went on a killer hike, especially for me because I was carrying this 25-30 lb. talking ball of sweetness on my back. It was a 2 1/2 hour hike and his weight was really almost too much for me. I was nervous he was going to get really bored, but on the way up to the falls, behind my ear I heard his sweet voice saying:

“Hap-py, hap-py, hap-py, hap-py, hap-py…”

Wow! My heart practically burst hearing him repeat one of the few words he knows–happy. To me, he embodies the living definition of love, purity, and innocence.

Yesterday, in his sweet voice Parker reminded me happiness should be one of the main things we shoot for. Not the fleeting, circumstantial happiness. But the happiness that resonates from deep within our core; the happiness that transcends the sometimes menial things we do day-to-day.

“The greater part of our happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions, and not upon our circumstances.”
― Martha Washington

What words or phrases do you little ones say that make your heart melt? How have they helped change your perspective or brighten your day?

15 thoughts on “A sweet voice

  1. That is so sweet, Kim! It’s those little things they say or do that seem to make the hard times worth it. I cannot wait for Parker to say that he missed me. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Too sweet! How could he not be happy spending time outdoors with mom? I don’t have any of my own, but I have a little nephew who never fails to tug at my heart. When I go visit he says, “KK, play with me please?” in his sweet four-year-old voice. You realize in a hurry that whatever you think you’re doing that seems so important really isn’t…time to play! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness!! How cute that your nephew has a special nickname for you, Karen. It is so endearing when they either can’t figure out how to say your name or they choose a nickname for you. And you are so right, those sweet kiddos have a special way of reminding us what is important in life–play! Thank you for sharing about your nephew. It is amazing how kids are so good at pulling at our heart strings! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Gosh I love this! and YOU GO GIRL! I couldn’t imagine taking mine on a 2 and 1/2 hour hike. You are a strong woman! That picture is adorable. “But the happiness that resonates from deep within our core; the happiness that transcends the sometimes menial things we do day-to-day.” –This. Why are our kids so smart? Shouldn’t we have this all figured out by now? πŸ™‚ It makes my heart melt hearing my little one say “mama” That one will probably always be my favorite… and then followed by .. “I love you” I can’t wait for that one. πŸ™‚ Well she did say it once at 4 months.. but that was crazy… haha we actually got it on video… https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRbi89Hb9Wc … haha I just love this video… ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness!!! I just watched the video and it is so cute! And absolutely amazing! πŸ™‚ Those moments are so priceless!! I agree, hearing “mama” is so endearing. It is amazing how those small words make the bond between mother and child THAT much stronger. It is as if they realize that we have given our everything for them. And I’m with you on the “I love you.” I can’t wait for that! Thanks for sharing the video and your favorite phrase of your daughter! I love hearing what makes your heart melt. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Phoebe’s favourite word at the moment is ‘why?’ – indicative of how inquisitive her little mind is atm. I love this age, even though it can be challenging a lot of the time. Watching my daughter explore her world, test the limits. It brings such joy! How precious that your little boy is so happy!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • How sweet that she is learning so much about the world around her. It is amazing how you can almost see through their eyes all the wheels turning as they think about the answers they get to their “Why’s.” And I couldn’t agree more. It makes me happy to know that my boy is happy. Sometimes I wonder if I’m not exciting enough as a mom, but to hear him sound happy while we do the simplest things has brought me so much joy πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing about Phoebe’s favorite words. It is fun to know more about your sweet girl!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. First of all, way to go strong momma!!! He was probably happy for his future bragging rights later on, “Well, my mom can beat up your mom!” πŸ™‚

    What a beautiful truth he taught you that day–and me too today! To be happy, true happiness, regardless of the surroundings!

    My son just recently started mumbling his “love you,” to me. My heart melts every single time. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! That would be hilarious. Hopefully he won’t remember the times that I took a break and felt like I couldn’t take another step… cause that wouldn’t impress his friends as much πŸ˜‰

      How absolutely cute that he is starting to “love you.” I have to say that I cannot wait for that moment. Their sweet little voices make the love you’s sound so very sweet and pure. It is amazing how just two words can brighten our days. Thank you for sharing what touches your heart! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. He is so darn cute! If I had a little girl I would have my eye on him for her someday. πŸ˜‰ I’m so impressed he was happy hiking for that long! What a trooper. And a great lesson to remember, to make happiness our disposition, regardless of our circumstances!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank you so much! I do have to agree that I think he is a handsome kiddo with an even more adorable personality! πŸ™‚ And I’m glad that you liked the post, it was such a great reminder for me, as well. Sometimes I’m very prone to letting my circumstances decide my mood. Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  7. Pingback: Growing towards the light | A Pendulum World

I would love to hear your thoughts!

