Created to progress

This morning I woke up feeling lethargic. This whole moving ordeal seems to be eating up my energy. But, P and I have a routine and every morning we wake up, eat breakfast, and then pack up into our jogging stroller with multiple sippy cups, water bottles, and snacks, (just in case we find a park and want to play for a while).

So, despite feeling like a slug, we packed up and left. I decided I wanted a good view and a challenge, so we walked up the biggest hill nearby. Oh my. I haven’t got my heart pumping so hard in a while. I had to stop for breaks to breathe, while the 30 pound weight I brought along with me, happily chatted about the scenery.

little boy peaking through a stroller

My sweet 30 lb. weight, making me laugh as we walked.

As I was trudging up that hill, feeling the incline in my heart and quads, I started pondering about progression. I began thinking about challenging myself. How is it that the hardness of the exercise was actually fueling my spirit, instead of depleting me? How was I feeling re-charged and on top of the world, when in reality I was just a mom wearing an old exercise get-up, trudging up a hill?

I decided it is because we are eternal beings who were created for progress. Our souls thrive on becoming better each day. It is part of our genetic make up as children of God. Our souls love to conquer an obstacle that before was out of reach. We came to earth with the potential to become more like God and that takes progress. It takes climbing higher, stretching beyond our limits, and going out of our comfort zone.

mountain road with view of mountains in the distance

View on top, of the beautiful mountain range our home is nestled against.

The view on top! Lakes, mountains, and the cities below.

The view on top! Lakes, mountains, and the cities below.

ThatΒ mountain was hard to climb up today, but the climb was just what I needed. The view–impeccable. The slug that I resembled earlier had disappeared and I came down after doing my best, feeling more alive.

How do you feel after challenging yourself either physically or spiritually? What is your favorite way to enjoy nature?

33 thoughts on “Created to progress

  1. Wow….look at those clouds! It was definitely worth the hike! I know exactly what you mean about the whole moving thing though….it really does drain you lower than you ever thought you could go. In my world, those weekend bike rides are what pulls me up and propels me forward. Something about communing with nature just really makes you see how small you are in the scope of things and yet how utterly powerful you are!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know today was such a beautiful day! I couldn’t help but take more and more pictures. I felt silly though, stopping every little bit and snapping a picture. But how could I not?? Anyway, I’m glad you feel the same way about moving… It just takes so much emotional energy! I love that you take those weekend bike rides. Those sound so refreshing! And the scenery you see is SO beautiful! I loved those pictures you shared! πŸ™‚ thank you again for commiserating with me about moving! It is nice to feel like I’m not alone.

      Like

  2. It’s so hard to get out of a funk, and I agree, challenging yourself is just the thing that seems to work…often the very last thing you want to do!

    “…It takes climbing higher, stretching beyond our limits, and going out of our comfort zone.” I love that so much I think I’ll quote you write it down in my journal if you don’t mind. Thanks for this! Reading it fueled my spirit a bit and made me want to climb a mountain too (literally and figuratively) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree with you on that! Even though a challenge is often what works, it is often the thing I don’t want to do at all. In fact, I’ll often put it off for a while, and then once I’ve done it, I wonder why I procrastinated doing it for so long πŸ™‚

      And I’m so glad you that you enjoyed it! I’m glad it encouraged you. The thought has been encouraging myself today too! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I’ve been back into a running routine for a month now, and totally loving it! My counsellor actually recommended I run to release all the adrenaline that gets built up with my anxiety problem. I bet the exercise is just what you needed to clear your mind of all those consuming moving issues so that you can focus on the more important things! =)

    Like

    • I think you are right! I imagine the exercise did help relieve my anxiety, leaving me feeling much better! I’m glad your running routine is going so well! Running can be so rejuvenating and refreshing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. You actually encouraged me to exercise when my boy goes down for a nap soon. I was feeling the laziness creep in! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh wow, what a beautiful place!! I too would trudge that mountain just for the view! πŸ™‚

    I am a huge exercise addict, and push myself daily in it. The challenge with life though really hit me. Do I continually challenge myself spiritually as well? Thanks for the challenge!

    Like

    • I know, right? It sure does give me motivation knowing a wonderful view is waiting for me at the top πŸ™‚

      And that is so awesome that you love to exercise! I have been going through a period of feeling less motivated… But I *want* to be motivated!! I would love to hear what you do in the winter to exercise, when it is so cold outside. I can get bored if I do the same thing over and over…

      And I agree, so often I challenge myself to do things that are physical or can be seen by others, but focus less on the spiritual. I’m trying to turn that around! πŸ™‚

      Like

    • It is a beautiful view! And I don’t blame you. It is so hard to get out when it is hot! I hope fall comes soon to you in south Texas! The lower temperatures are such a relief πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting my blog!

      Like

  5. What an awesome experience and comparison to life. I love to hear your thoughts and perspective. You have a great way of relating simple daily experiences to a larger life experience.

    Like

    • Thank you, Dad! It means so much for me to hear that. I do feel that looking for lessons in my everyday life is the way I learn the most. Love you and thank you for your comment πŸ™‚

      Like

    • It was a beautiful day that I am so grateful for! And you are right, I keep thinking back to that day, simply because it was so beautiful! Thanks for your comment and for visiting my blog πŸ™‚

      Like

I would love to hear your thoughts!

